Tom Kha Gai

Tom Kha Gai (or Tom Ka Gai as I’ve seen it spelled) is a Thai coconut soup.  It’s quick.  It’s easy.  It’s fresh.  It’s simple.  It’s awesome.  Plus, the pot I made in this video, with over 1/2 stick of butter, 4-5T of heavy whipping cream, and 3 cans of coconut milk contains about 4,000 calories and a nearly unbeatable ratio of saturated fat to polyunsaturated fat.  Mainstream health might gasp at this, but they need to take a visit to Thailand to see the kind of obesity this soup and other rich curries is causing over there… um, none.   

Nutrition aside, this soup is literally the best soup I’ve ever made and had.  The theme of Thai cooking is to keep the flavors as bright as possible.  Cooking time is meant to be as minimal as possible to preserve the brightness – almost the opposite theme of other ethnic cuisines which rely on long stewing to create deep and subdued flavors. 

Anyway, you can find out more about this soup in 180 Kitchen or in the back issues of the 180 eZine, 180DegreeHealth Report.  It is  a must-make soup.  There’s a reason why a sick woman requested that I make it for her yesterday.  It’s the best thing ever. 

(Note:  At the end of the video I make mention of “my future mother-in-law.”  Don’t worry, I’m not engaged or anything.  Just making a joke… ladies).

Important Note:  Do not eat the lemongrass and ginger chunks.  They are just for flavoring.  It’s kind of annoying to have to pick them out as you eat, but that’s how Thai people do it so get used to it!     

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://180kitchen.wordpress.com/2010/01/09/tom-kha-gai/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Just like making Tom Kha Gai, begin by sautéing on medium heat (sweating) some sliced onion and sliced red bell pepper in ½ […]

  2. Please send me the recipe I love this soup and think it is the best soup ever!!!!!

    Tish x

  3. I do NOT want to be this hungry at 10 pm! This looks easy and amazing. I’ll have to give it a whirl as it looks very similar to a soup my wife and I get at a local Vietnamese restaurant.

  4. gla to have found this site through times risotto article

    • Good, cuz I felt like a trolling, spamming, whore leaving links to my site there.

  5. […] news, 180 Kitchen is going to see a lot of action this week. I recently did a post and video on Tom Ka Gai – Thai coconut soup, and I’ve got posts coming later on Massaman curry and Baby Back Ribs. So […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

