Potatoes and Shallots

Taters and shallots are like Starsky and Hutch or peanut butter and jelly.  They go together really well.  Inseparable.  Anyway, this has long been a favorite campfire meal side dish that I began doing ritualistically almost 10 years ago.  Campfire or not, throw some potatoes and shallots together with a little fat and it will come out great. 

Cut the shallots into big chunks after peeling them as shown in the photo.  Cut potatoes into large chunks as well.  Toss with a little salt and spice and a squirt of olive oil to get them all lightly coated and you’re ready to seal them up into an aluminum foil pouch.  Holy Schnikies!   

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://180kitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/18/potatoes-and-shallots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL, I got both potatoes and shallots in my recent CSA vegetable order. I don’t have a campfire available, but I’ve been pan sauteeing them in coconut oil for breakfast to go along with my morning eggs. Darned yummy, except I’ve used the shallots all up. Bummer.

    • Campfire is definitely optional!

  2. Thanks Sha llot for this idea! I threw a chunk o turkey breast in the pan, added a few slabs of butter, some yukon gold baby tateys and a few shallots, some salt and peppa.

    Waiting for it to be dinner .
    xo
    deb

    • That’s my tater-fed momma!

  3. and just for you Pimptato Daddy, I am going to do a post meal bg test. I had the turkey/tato/shallots/butter with an ear of corn with butter on it.

    The test will tell me how that all went down in my bod.
    stay tuned,
    deb

  4. OK, Matt, I’m starting to get addicted to money spice. I know you will probably never eat it again, but dang, oatmeal cooked in milk with a pinch of the money is tasty. I’ve been on a quest for the ultimate savory oatmeal for ages and I think this might be it.

    • Wow, taking money spice to a whole new level. I do eat oatmeal all the time, so maybe I’ll hit that one day.

  5. OK, Matt, I’m starting to get addicted to money spice. I know you will probably never eat it again, but dang, oatmeal cooked in milk with a pinch of the money is tasty. I’ve been on a quest for the ultimate savory oatmeal for ages and I think this might be it.

    _Jenny


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

