Potachos

In March I went super gourmet on ya.  This month, and probably for several months, it’s time to simplify.  Many want to know how to make healthy eating practical – and while I maintain my belief that your homemade food must be really good and satisfying to keep you eating clean homemade meals, it need NOT be difficult or complicated.

Enter “potachos,” my super ghetto potato with a nacho theme – one of my favorite quick lunches over the last month as I busily slaved over the new version of 180 Degree Metabolism

Ingredients:

  • 1 Yukon gold potato, boiled and lightly-mashed
  • Salsa
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Sour cream

Directions:

  • Mash the potato (make sure it is warm to begin with)
  • Season with salt or a seasoning blend
  • Cover with salsa and shredded cheese
  • Broil in the oven until cheese is melted
  • Top with sour cream
  • Add additional condiments, such as fresh cilantro, black olives, or whatever ya like
Published in: on April 13, 2010 at 9:19 am  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://180kitchen.wordpress.com/2010/04/13/potachos/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. In the midwest we call this a potato with all the fixins. We have a baked potato buffet at our Bonfire Night Party every year. We often have the problem of the potatoes cooling down to fast with all the fixins on board. A second pass under the broiler is genius!

    Thanks!

  2. Genius!!!

  3. Looks yummy Matt! Thanks for the easy recipes, I went back to work in Jan and have been having issues keeping my family fed because I’m wiped out at the end of the day. Hopefully these recipes will decrease the amount of take out pizza we’ve been eating lately! I need some easy ways to feed my family 180 style!

  4. 04/13/2010

    Thanks for going 180-degree “ghetto” for us. I hope it didn’t hurt. It sure works for me! I like simple. I’m going to add some Yukon gold potatoes
    to my grocery list!

  5. Ghetto potachos sounds a lot more interesting than baked potato bar though- I like it. 🙂

  6. Matt – you forgot the butter!! Its the perfect place for it. Thanks for the recipe as I’m making now.
    Kurt

  7. Just made them for the first time this morning. Simply awesome and incredibly simple. My kids love them too.

    • It’s kinda stupid how good they are. Yummy with some cottage cheese as well if you’re fishing for some extra protein in there.

  8. Can you do this in a microwave, I wonder? I’d like to have hot potachos at work.

    • You certainly could, as I not-so-subtly suggested towards the end of the video.

  9. Hi Matt, I saw this blog post on kitchen efficiency and instantly thought of your wonderful cookbook: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2010/04/the-pemmican-principle-of-food-preparation-for-time-efficiency.html

    I continue to love the cookbook:)

  10. […] in the lineup is a new post at 180 Kitchen. I’ll be doing lots of quick and easy recipes and videos over the coming weeks, starting […]


Leave a Reply

