Shrimp in Spicy Tomato Broth

Back again with another very simple recipe.  I’ve been making this almost daily of late.  It’s quick, it’s easy, and it tastes a lot better than you can imagine.  This is a great staple dish for those of you with strong metabolisms that are ready to part with a little body fat, and is one of the several recipes included in the new 180 Degree Metabolism

Ingredients:

  • 10 frozen shrimp
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • Splash of water
  • Handful of spinach
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas
  • Salt
  • 1-2T butter

Directions… Throw it all in a pot and cook it until it’s done – except for the butter that is. Stir that in at the very end.  Takes 5-7 minutes. 

Published in: on April 15, 2010 at 9:20 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://180kitchen.wordpress.com/2010/04/15/shrimp-in-spicy-tomato-broth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice! I have been makin’ me some one-pot-meals as of late also. I will have to try. Also a little coconut milk broth would probably be killer with this.

  2. Mmmm, looks great!

  3. these recipes are perfect for this stressed out mom of two youngins who doesn’t usually get in very good meals during the day and for her husband who really needs to be taking nourishing lunches to work. thank you so much for posting these and keep ’em coming!

  4. Mmmmm…will try this with saffron for sure, my hubby would go nuts. This would be great with muscles as well, maybe over a little brown rice pasta. What are you thinking about brown rice pasta, by the way?

    • I’ve actually never tried the brown rice pasta. I would imagine that it’s just jim dandy though. A mix of shellfish makes this soup like a traditional Italian Cioppino. I really like it with white-fleshed fish too.

  5. Hi, Looks like a great meal my husband would love. Unfortunately, I and our daughter, are allergic to shellfish. Any substitution ideas? Thanks!

    • It’s great with white-fleshed fish, particularly oilier versions. I used to make a quick stew like this with a type of oily marlin in Hawaii when I lived there. Ono/Wahoo would be great if you can find it. Swordfish/marlin are great. Halibut, cod, and other less oily white-fleshed fish make a great substitute as well. You’ll be surprised at how tasty it can actually be.

      • By the way, I hope to fully rehabilitate my girlfriend from a deadly shellfish allergy over the next year or so. She already seems less sensitive. I can rub shrimp on your wrists and lips without any allergic reaction. Let you know what I discover if it works!

  6. I’m really diggin’ these recipes. Were the frozen vegetables and shrimp all pre-cooked?

    • Yeah I think so.


Leave a Reply

